2022 Special Awards: Guidelines and Application Form

Application Deadline: October 1, 2021 at 5:00 p.m.

As part of the Oregon Book Awards, Literary Arts offers three awards that recognize significant contributions to Oregon’s literary culture:

The Charles Erskine Scott Wood Distinguished Writer Award is presented to an Oregon author in recognition of an enduring, substantial literary career. Past recipients include George Hitchcock, Ken Kesey, Ursula K. Le Guin, and Barry Lopez.

• The Stewart H. Holbrook Literary Legacy Award is presented to a person or organization in recognition of significant contributions that have enriched Oregon’s literary community. Past recipients include José González, Kim Stafford, Barbara LaMorticella, David Milholland, Marlene Howard, and John Laursen.

• The Walt Morey Young Readers Literary Legacy Award is presented to a person or organization in recognition of significant contributions that have enriched Oregon’s young readers. Past recipients include Ulrich Hardt, Carol White, Read to the Dogs, and Children’s Book Bank.


Recipients will be announced in 2022 and formally acknowledged at the Oregon Book Awards ceremony in April 2022.

Nomination Requirements

Nominee must be a full-time, living Oregon resident. Exception: A qualified resident who dies after the submission deadline may receive a posthumous award. Literary Arts staff, board members or advisory committee members are precluded from consideration.

Nomination Guidelines

Nominators may be any member of the community. There is no nomination fee.  The nominator prepares the nomination packet, which should include:

•The entry form (at the bottom of this page)

•A minimum of three letters, maximum of five letters written in support of the nomination. Literary Arts recommends the nominator select individuals to write letters of support who have specific knowledge of the nominee and who are in the best position to provide letters of support.  Please attach the letters as PDFs in the space provided on the form. You can also email the letters separately to Susan Moore at susan@literary-arts.org. We do not recommend mailing nomination letters.

Only one nomination packet is accepted per nominee. If more than one nomination packet for the same nominee is received, only the first nomination packet received will be considered. Please contact Susan Moore if you have questions about the process.


Nominations from previous years that did not result in an award are not automatically reconsidered; however, nominations remain on file for two years. If you would like your nomination reconsidered, please fill out a new application form and indicate in the space provided if you would like a previous submission reconsidered.

Selection Process

Nominations will be reviewed and recommendations made by the Oregon Book Awards and Fellowships Advisory Council; their recommendation is then approved by the Literary Arts Board of Directors.


2022 Oregon Book Awards: Special Awards Nomination

After you have completed this form, select "submit". The page will re-load. Scroll down to the see the message that your submission was received. Please contact Susan Moore at susan@literary-arts.org with questions.
  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, Max. file size: 50 MB, Max. files: 6.
      Please upload 3-5 letters of nomination here. They can be submitted as PDF files or Word files, and can be submitted as individual files. Uploading letters here is preferable, but letters can also be emailed separately to susan@literary-arts.org.