Loading Events
Events Category:

2020 Oregon Book Awards Ceremony (Rescheduled)

Mon, June 22 from 7:30 pm
128 NW 11th Ave Portland, OR 97209


This event was previously scheduled to take place on April 27. If you had previously purchased tickets for that date, please hang on to them! They will transfer directly to be used for entry on June 22. 


Join Literary Arts’ annual celebration of the state’s most accomplished writers in the genres of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, young readers, and graphic literature. Winners will be named at the Oregon Book Awards Ceremony at Portland Center Stage at the Armory.

This year’s finalists are listed here

Available ticket prices include:

$12 – Balcony-level seating at the Oregon Book Awards Ceremony.

$22 – Orchestra-level seating at the Oregon Book Awards Ceremony.

$65 – Patron ticket to the Oregon Book Awards Ceremony. This price includes premium seating at the Gerding Theater and supports the Oregon Book Awards & Fellowships program.

All seats are general admission (open seating) within sections.


A cash-bar reception and book signing will follow the ceremony.


Help #SupportWriters by making a gift to the Brian Booth Writers’ Fund.


Special thanks to our event sponsors:


Omar El Akkad

Omar El Akkad was born in Cairo, Egypt and grew up in Doha, Qatar until he moved to Canada with his family. He is an award-winning journalist and author who has traveled around the world to cover many of the most important news stories of the last decade. His reporting includes dispatches from the NATO-led war in Afghanistan, the military trials at Guantànamo Bay, the Arab Spring revolution in Egypt and the Black Lives Matter movement in Ferguson, Missouri. He is a recipient of Canada’s National Newspaper Award for investigative reporting and the Goff Penny Memorial Prize for Young Canadian Journalists, as well as three National Magazine Award honorable mentions. His most recent work is American War, for which he won the Oregon Book Award for Fiction. He lives in Portland, Oregon. Visit him online at omarelakkad.com.
Read more

Elena Passarello

Elena Passarello is an actor, essayist, and recipient of a 2015 Whiting Award. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Paris Review, and The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2018, and has been translated into German, Italian, French, and Mandarin. She is the author of the essay collections Let Me Clear My Throat and Animals Strike Curious Poses, the latter of which won the 2018 Oregon Book Award in Creative Nonfiction and made the Best Books of 2017 lists in the New York Times, Guardian, and Publisher's Weekly. Passarello teaches creative writing at Oregon State University and appears weekly on the nationally-syndicated PRI radio variety show LiveWire!. Visit her online at elenapassarello.com.
Read more