Loading Events
Virtual Event

28th Annual Oregon Book Awards Ceremony

Mon, Apr 13, 2015 from 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PDT
128 Northwest 11th Avenue Portland, OR 97209

Join Literary Arts’ annual celebration of the state’s most accomplished writers in the genres of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, young readers, and drama. Winners will be named at the Oregon Book Awards Ceremony at the Gerding Theater at the Armory in Portland. Portland’s own Mitchell S. Jackson, author of The Residue Years, will be hosting the evening.

In celebration of the 30th Anniversary of Literary Arts and with the support of the Brian Booth Writers’ Fund, the Oregon Book Awards & Fellowships program is granting a total of $59,000 to Oregon’s writers and publishers this year. Click here to see a full lists of award finalists and fellowship recipients.

Tickets are available at brownpapertickets.com

$10 – Upper Balcony-level seating

$18 – Orchestra-level seating

$65 – Patron-level seating
(This price includes premium seating at the Gerding Theater.)

All seats are general admission (open seating) within sections. We recommend you have tickets mailed to you in order to avoid long lines at will-call. A cash-bar reception and book signing will follow the ceremony.


Mimitchell-s-jacksontchell S. Jackson earned a master’s degree in writing from Portland State University and a master’s in creative writing from New York University, where he now teaches. Recently, Jackson was the winner of the 2014 Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence for his novel The Residue Years. He has also been awarded fellowships from the Lannan Foundation, the Urban Artists Initiative and The Center For Fiction. (Photo by Charlotte Wales)

What is your favorite book by an Oregon Book Awards finalist?
Vote in our Readers’ Choice Survey online at: literary-arts.org/voteOBA
The finalist with the most votes will receive a special award at the ceremony.