• February 16, 2023
          Slamlandia
          February 22, 2023
          Portland Arts & Lectures 2022/23: Patrick Radden Keefe
          March 1, 2023
          One Page Wednesday- March
          March 3, 2023
          Mary Szybist & Laurel Nakanishi
  • Box Office
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Virtual Event
Event Categories:

,

Storytime: Counting to Bananas

Sat, Nov 5, 2022 from 11:50 am - 12:10 pm PDT
1219 SW Park Avenue Portland, OR 97205

General Admission Pass required for entry

A hilarious, mostly-rhyming picture book about a banana and narrator who can’t quite agree on what their book is about. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’ We Are in a Book and Adam Rex’s Nothing Rhymes With Orange!

When a narrator starts filling this story with fruit, Banana can’t wait to step into the spotlight. The book is called Counting to Bananas, after all. But as more and more fruits (and non-fruits) are added to the story, Banana objects. When will it be time for bananas?!

With laugh-out-loud text from debut author Carrie Tillotson and brought to life by illustrator Estrela Lourenço this is the story of a banana and narrator who have very strong opinions about what should (and should not!) be in this book.


Portland Book Festival General Admission Passes are required for entry into all events. Passes are $15 in advance and $25 day of Festival. Youth 17 & under, or with a valid high school ID get in FREE. All full-priced General Admission Passes include a $5 book fair voucher and entry into Portland Art Museum. Passes admit attendees to the Festival; individual events are first-come, first-served. More info here.

Carrie Tillotson

Carrie Tillotson is the children’s author of the books Counting to Bananas and the forthcoming B Is for Bananas. Before she started writing children’s books, Carrie worked as a biostatistician. Her job involved counting a lot of numbers (but not many bananas). Her debut picture book, Counting to Bananas, was selected as an Amazon Editors’ Pick and Best Books of 2022 So Far. She lives in Oregon with her husband and son, two dogs, and two chickens.
Read more

Emily Arrow

Emily Arrow creates songs about books! Formerly a K-6 music educator, Emily’s passion for books led her to create music that promotes literacy. Formerly in Tennessee, now based in Texas, Emily brings picture books to life by collaborating with bestselling authors and publishers. Emily’s YouTube Channel is a classroom sensation with over 19,000 followers and an average of 800,000 views per year, and she makes over 60 classroom and library visits a year. Emily also shares her passion for literacy and music by offering workshops, classes and weekly story times. StudioA Place for Art to Start is Emily’s first book for children.

Order StudioANNIE BLOOM'S | BROADWAY | POWELL'S

Read more