Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Events Category:

Pop-up: Tehlor Kay Mejia

Sat, Nov 9, 2019 from 1:00 pm - 1:15 pm
1219 SW Park Ave Portland, OR 97205

Tehlor Kay Mejia pops-up in the Portland Art Museum galleries with her debut YA fantasy novel, We Set the Dark on Fire

Mejia is paired with the artwork Global Inversion by Diane Jacobs; found in the Northwest Art Gallery, on the 4th floor of the Portland Art Museum. Please reference the Portland Art Museum Map to find this location.


In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?

Tehlor Kay Mejia

Tehlor Kay Mejia is an author and Oregon native in love with the alpine meadows and evergreen forests of her home state, where she lives with her daughter. When she’s not writing, you can find her plucking at her guitar, stealing rosemary sprigs from overgrown gardens, or trying to make the perfect vegan tamale. She is active in the Latinx lit community, and passionate about representation for marginalized teens in media. Her short fiction appears in the All Out and Toil & Trouble anthologies from Inkyard Press. Her debut YA fantasy novel, We Set the Dark on Fire, was published in February 2019 from Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins and the sequel, We Unleash the Merciless Storm, will be published in February 2020.
Read more