Loading Events

Buy Tickets

← Back to full calendar

Pop-up: Tehlor Kay Mejia

  • This event has passed.

When:November 9 @ 1:00 pm - 1:15 pm

Where:

Portland Art Museum
1219 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205

Tehlor Kay Mejia pops-up in the Portland Art Museum galleries with her debut YA fantasy novel, We Set the Dark on Fire

Mejia is paired with the artwork Global Inversion by Diane Jacobs; found in the Northwest Art Gallery, on the 4th floor of the Portland Art Museum. Please reference the Portland Art Museum Map to find this location.


In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?