• April 22, 2024
          Letter Writing Social
          April 25, 2024
          Verselandia! Youth Poetry Slam Championship (2024)
          April 26, 2024
          BIPOC Reading Series April
          May 1, 2024
          One Page Wednesday: May
  • Box Office

2014 Oregon Book Awards Finalists & Fellowship Recipients

27th Annaul Oregon Book Awards Ceremony
Monday, March 17, 2014, 7:30PM
Gerding Theater at the Armory (128 NW 11TH Ave, Portland)
Tickets start at $10, available BrownPaperTickets.com | 800.838.3006

Literary Arts is pleased to announce the finalists for the 27th annual Oregon Book Awards. The winners will be announced at the 27th Oregon Book Awards ceremony on March 17, 2014.  Luis Urrea will host the ceremony, which honors the state’s finest accomplishments by Oregon writers who work in genres of poetry, fiction, graphic literature, literary nonfiction, and young readers literature.

Ken Kesey Award for Fiction

Judge: Alan Cheuse
Ursula K. Le Guin of Portland, The Unreal and The Real: Collected Stories: Volume 1 and 2 (Small Beer Press)
Whitney Otto of Portland, Eight Girls Taking Pictures (Scribner)
Amanda Coplin of Portland, The Orchardist (Harper Perennial)
Roger Hobbs of Portland, Ghostman (Knopf)

Stafford / Hall Award for Poetry

Judge: Kwame Dawes
Jennifer Boyden of Milton-Freewater, The Declarable Future (University of Wisconsin Press)
Matthew Dickman of Portland, Mayakovsky¹s Revolver (Norton)
Andrea Hollander of Portland, Landscape with Female Figure: New and Selected Poems, 1982-2012 (Autumn House Press)
Ralph Salisbury of Eugene, Like the Sun in Storm (The Habits of Rainy Nights Press)
Mary Szybist of Portland, Incarnadine (Graywolf)

Frances Fuller Victor Award for General Nonfiction

Judge: Amanda Vail
C. B. Bernard of Portland, Chasing Alaska (Lyons Press)
William J. Bernstein of Portland, Masters of the Word (Grove Press)
Paul Collins of Portland, Duel with the Devil (Crown Publishers)
R. Gregory Nokes of West Linn, Breaking Chains (OSU Press)
Martin N. Raitiere of Portland, The Complicity of Friends (Bucknell University Press)

Sarah Winnemucca Award for Creative Nonfiction

Judge: Ander Monson
Jay Ponteri of Portland, Wedlocked (Hawthorne Books)
Scott Nadelson of Salem, The Next Scott Nadelson (Hawthorne Books)
Elena Passarello of Corvallis, Let Me Clear My Throat (Sarabande Books)
Kim Stafford of Portland, 100 Tricks Every Boy Can Do (Trinity University Press)
Sandra Stone of Portland, The Inmost House (Prospect Cove Press)

Eloise Jarvis McGraw Award for Children’s Literature

Judge: Anita Silvey
Scott William Carter of Salem, Wooden Bones (Simon & Schuster)
Deborah Hopkinson of West Linn, Knit Your Bit (G.P. Putnam)
Barbara Kerley of Portland, The World Is Waiting for You (National Geographic)
Graham Salisbury of Lake Oswego, Calvin Coconut: Extra Famous (Wendy Lamb Books)
Allen Say of Portland, The Favorite Daughter (Arthur A. Levine)

Leslie Bradshaw Award for Young Adult Literature

Judge: Benjamin Saenz
Kari Luna of Portland, The Theory of Everything (Philomel Books)
Kelly Moore, Larkin Reed and Tucker Reed of Jacksonville, Amber House(Arthur A. Levine)
Rosanne Parry of Portland, Written in Stone (Random House)

Pacific Northwest College of Art Graphic Literature Award

Judge: Jesse Karp
Barry Deutsch of Portland, Hereville: How Mirtka Met a Meteorite (Amulet Books)
Steve Duin and Shannon Wheeler of Portland, Oil and Water (Fantagraphics Books)
Natalie Nourigat of Portland, Between Gears (Image Comics)
Joe Sacco of Portland, Journalism (Metropolitan Books)
Craig Thompson of Portland, Habibi (Pantheon)

Special Awards

In addition to recognizing the finest achievements of Oregon authors in several genres, Literary Arts recognizes individual contributions with the C.E.S. Wood Award, the Stewart H. Holbrook Literary Legacy Award, and the Walt Morey Young Readers Literary Legacy Award.

The C.E.S. Wood Distinguished Writer Award
Vern Rutsala of Portland

The Stewart H. Holbrook Literary Legacy Award
Vince and Patty Wixon of Ashland

The Walt Morey Young Readers Literary Legacy Award
Ellen Fader of Portland

2014 Oregon Literary Fellowship Recipients

Literary Arts is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Oregon Literary Fellowships to writers and to publishers. The judges named eight writers and two publishers to receive grants of $2,500.


Toni Hanner of Eugene, The Friends of the Lake Oswego Library William Stafford Fellowship
Armin Tolentino of Portland, The C. Hamilton Bailey Fellowship

Robert Arellano of Talent, The Leslie Bradshaw Fellowship
Sarah Marshall of Portland, Women Writer’s Fellowship

Literary Nonfiction
Kristy Athens of Enterprise
Alena Nevarte Nahabedian of Portland, The Walt Morey Fellowship

Stephanie Golisch of Portland

Young Readers Literature
Anjie Seewer Reynolds of Ashland, The Edna L. Holmes Fellowship in Young Readers Literature

Calyx of Corvallis
Forest Avenue Press of Portland

Honorable Mention

In addition to the above named fellowship recipients, two applicants were also selected by the judges to receive “honorable mentions.” Honorable mentions were selected at the judges’ discretion. These were writers whose work the judges felt was deserving of an “honorable mention” designation, although they were not selected to receive a fellowship.

Arthur Bradford of Portland
Becca Wadlinger of Portland

The Oregon Book Awards & Fellowships are sponsored by the Oregon Arts Commission and Oregon Cultural Trust.

Our mission is to engage readers, support writers, and inspire the next generation with great literature.

Related Posts