Oregon Book Awards Finalists and Literary Fellowship Recipients Announced

Literary Arts congratulates the 2011 Oregon Book Awards Finalists and Fellowship Recipients

Ken Kesey Award For Fiction
Judge: Lydia Millet

Emily Chenoweth of Portland, Hello Goodbye (Random House)
K.B. Dixon of Portland, A Painter’s Life (Inkwater Press)
Jane Kirkpatrick of Moro, A Flickering Light (WaterBrook Press)
Scott Sadil of Hood River, Lost in Wyoming (Barclay Creek Press)
Willy Vlautin of Portland, Lean on Pete (Harper Perennial)

Stafford/Hall Award For Poetry
Judge: Robert Pinsky

David Biespiel of Portland, The Book of Men and Women (University of Washington Press)
Donna Henderson of Monmouth. The Eddy Fence (Airlie Press)
Henry Hughes of Falls City, Moist Meridian (Mammoth Books)
Jennifer Richter of Corvallis, Threshold (Southern Illinois University Press)
Zachary Schomburg of Portland, Scary No Scary (Black Ocean)

Frances Fuller Victor Award For General Nonfiction
Judge: Greg Grandin

Paul Collins of Portland,The Book of William (Bloomsbury)
Tom Krattenmaker of Portland, Onward Christian Athletes (Rowman & Littlefield)
Barry Sanders of Portland, Unsuspecting Souls (Counterpoint Press)
Barry Sanders of Portland, The Green Zone (AK Press)
Paul VanDevelder of Corvallis, Savages and Scoundrels (Yale University Press)

Sarah Winnemucca Award For Creative Nonfiction
Judge: Kyoko Mori

Carol Ann Bassett of Eugene, Galapagos at the Crossroads (National Geographic)
Tom Bissell of Portland, Extra Lives (Pantheon Books)
John Daniel of Elmira, The Far Corner (Counterpoint Press)
Lisa Ohlen Harris of Newberg, Through the Veil (Canon Press)
Kathleen Dean Moore of Corvallis, Wild Comfort (Trumpeter Books)

Eloise Jarvis McGraw Award For Children’s Literature
Judge: Kathi Appelt

Dale E. Basye of Portland, Rapacia:The Second Circle of Heck (Random House)
Dawn Babb Prochovnic of Portland, The Nest Where I Like to Rest (Magic Wagon)
Graham Salisbury of Lake Oswego, Calvin Coconut: The Zippy Fix (Wendy Lamb Books)
Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen of Hines, A Small Brown Dog A With Wet Pink Nose (Little Brown and Company)
Barbara Kerley of Portland, The Extraordinary Mark Twain (Scholastic Press)

Leslie Bradshaw Award For Young Adult Literature
Judge: Kathi Appelt

Scott William Carter of Salem, The Last Great Getaway of the Water Balloon Boys (Simon and Schuster)
Kerry Cohen Hoffman of Portland, It’s Not You, It’s Me (Random House)
Anne Osterlund of Ione, Academy 7 (Penguin Group)
L.K. Madigan of Portland, Flash Burnout (Houghton Mifflin)
Emily Whitman of Portland, Radiant Darkness (Greenwillow/Harper Collins)

Angus L. Bowmer Award For Drama
Judge: Paula Cizmar

Marc Acito of Portland & C.S. Whitcomb of Wilsonville, Holidazed
Wayne Harrel of Portland, Second Bloom
Susan Mach of Portland, The Lost Boy
George Taylor of Beaverton, Good Citizen
Molly Best Tinsley of Ashland, Glacial Genes

Oregon Literary Fellowships

Fellowships to Writers
Fellowships to writers were judged by a panel consisting of Patrick Somerville, fiction writer and author of The Cradle (Little, Brown and Company) ; Alex Lemon, author of three poetry collections, including Mosquito (Tin House Books) and Hallelujah Blackout (Milkweed Editions) and the memoir Happy (Scribner); and Barbara Hurd, the author of a trilogy of creative nonfiction works from University of Georgia Press, Stirring the Mud: On Swamps, Bogs, and Human Imagination, Entering the Stone: On Caves and Feeling through the Dark and Walking the Wrack Line: On Tidal Shift and What Remains, as well as two volumes of poetry. The judge for young readers literature was An Na and the judge in drama was Carlos Murillo.

Jennifer Richter of Corvallis, The C.Hamilton Bailey Fellowship
Crystal Williams of Portland, The Oregon Poetry Community Fellowship
Michelle Penaloza of Eugene, The Women Writers Fellowship

Brenden Willey of Portland, The Walt Morey Fellowship

Literary Nonfiction
Gretchen Icenogle of Portland, The Friends of the Lake Oswego Library William Stafford Fellowship
Michael McGregor of Portland, The Leslie Bradshaw Fellowship

Claire Willett of Portland

Young Readers Literature
Barbara Liles of Portland, The Edna L. Holmes Fellowship in Young Readers Literature

Fellowships to Publishers
Presses and magazines demonstrating a commitment to literary publishing receive these fellowships. Publishers fellowships were judged by Stephanie G’Schwind, editor of Colorado Review and Director of the Center for Literary Publishing.

The Grove Review of Portland
Octopus Books of Portland

Related Posts