• December 6, 2023
          One Page Wednesday
          December 8, 2023
          Independent Publishers Discussion
          December 12, 2023
          The Moth: Mainstage in Portland
          December 21, 2023
  • Box Office

2011 Oregon Literary Fellowships Recipients

Pictured above are the 2011 Oregon Literary Fellowships recipients
Row 1: Gretchen Icenogle, Barbara Liles, Michael McGregor, Jennifer Richter
Row 2: Grove Review, Claire Willet, Brenden Willey, Crystal Williams, Octopus Books

Fellowships to Writers


Michelle Penaloza of Eugene, The Women Writers Fellowship
Jennifer Richter of Corvallis, The C.Hamilton Bailey Fellowship
Crystal Williams of Portland, The Oregon Poetry Community Fellowship


Brenden Willey of Portland, The Walt Morey Fellowship

Literary Nonfiction

Gretchen Icenogle of Portland, The Friends of the Lake Oswego Library William Stafford Fellowship
Michael McGregor of Portland, The Leslie Bradshaw Fellowship


Claire Willett of Portland

Young Readers Literature

Barbara Liles
of Portland, The Edna L. Holmes Fellowship in Young Readers Literature

Fellowships to Publishers

Presses and magazines demonstrating a commitment to literary publishing receive these fellowships.

Grove Review
of Portland
Octopus Books of Portland

Women Writers Fellowship

The Women Writers Fellowship is a limited, special fund, endowed by the Ralph L. Smith Foundation and administered by Literary Arts, for women writers living in Oregon. Of special interest to the grant makers are perspectives that are traditionally not well represented, including those exploring experiences of ethnicity, class, physical disability or sexual orientation. Michelle Penaloza is this year’s recipient.


Publishers fellowships were judged by Stephanie G’Schwind, editor of Colorado Review and Director of the Center for Literary Publishing.

Fellowships to writers were judged by a panel consisting of Patrick Somerville, fiction writer and author of The Cradle (Little, Brown and Company) ; Alex Lemon, author of three poetry collections, including Mosquito (Tin House Books) and Hallelujah Blackout (Milkweed Editions) and the memoir Happy (Scribner); and Barbara Hurd, the author of a trilogy of creative nonfiction works from University of Georgia Press, Stirring the Mud: On Swamps, Bogs, and Human Imagination, Entering the Stone: On Caves and Feeling through the Dark and Walking the Wrack Line: On Tidal Shift and What Remains, as well as two volumes of poetry. The judge for young readers literature was An Na and the judge in drama was Carlos Murillo.

Related Posts